Looking out my front door

Okay, it’s not the greatest photo in the world, largely because I took it my own self, with my cell phone. But it marks a media milestone! It’s the first time I’ve managed to send myself a photo I took–up until now, I’ve asked my son to do it. So I am feeling all mighty at the moment, and will even get to post a photo of Jake with those sunflowers I wrote about later on! But for now, I’d like to talk about how insanely happy this planter makes me every time I see it. I planted it with two ‘Nonstop’ tuberous begonias from Home Depot, one lovely sky-blue lobelia, also from Home Depot, purple and a light-green sweet-potato vines from Home Depot, and one of the coleus sent me to trial by Proven Winners: Colorblaze® ‘Alligator Tears.’ I’m not sure why this combination works so well for me, but I think it has to do with the many different shapes and weights of leaves–the sword-sharp, thick begonias, the soft heart-shaped vines, the two-tone coleus, the tiny lobelia foliage–and the colors of those begonias against the warm red brick of the house. When I bought them, I was worried they were too close in color, and that the pinks would clash. But that ain’t happening! And every time I come up from front steps, which on an average day is about 18 times, I get a big smile on my face just from looking at this planter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

