Whoa. Just … whoa.

Spring sprang all of a sudden after that crazy winter. The usual calm, orderly procession of flowering trees, which spreads out over the course of weeks, even months, has been compressed to days. On Friday, the redbuds were flowering; on Saturday, I saw Bradford pears; on Sundays, the magnolias were out and about. It’s so deeply weird! My flowering bulbs are seeing the same sort of tightening. The snow crocuses didn’t even stick their heads out–only their foliage. (I missed them.) My iris reticulata lasted two days. The early tulips also seem to have just been completely blown out by a week of 70-degree-plus temperatures in May.

Every year for 30 years, I’ve planted early seeds the weekend after St. Patrick’s Day. This year, I moved the schedule up two weeks, and I’m still afraid nature won’t provide the cold snap my beloved poppies and sweet pea flowers and larkspur need. On the plus side, cornflowers that self-seeded are nearly six inches high already. But what about the roses that are rushed? What happens if we actually DO have a late cold snap?

Not that I think it’s likely. We’re about to settle into one more week of 70-plus. And while I can’t say it’s unwelcome—far be it from me to whine about the warm sun on my face!—I do wonder what additional havoc the weather will wreak on perennials–not to mention whether I should be putting my tomato plants in. Not that one can actually BUY tomato plants in March. Aw, come on, Mother Nature! You are totally messing with our heads this year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

