New Year, New Growth

 

It’s Christmas Eve. Tomorrow, I’ll drive to Princeton to have Christmas dinner with my family. My sister Nancy will give me (us) an amaryllis for our Christmas gift. It will bloom, magnificently, sometime around April. (I keep our house COLD. All the other siblings, who also get amaryllises, say theirs bloom right away.) And then will come the conundrum–do I keep trying to keep this amaryllis going? Or do I just say–okay, I loved you this one time, but that’s enough?

I will keep growing the amaryllis, even though it will never again bloom so magnificently. So. I’m a sucker. Or an impossibly hopeful optimist.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

