Let’s do it again!

Sometimes a plant is just perfect for a particular spot. That’s what I realized last summer when Proven Winners sent me this baby to trial. It’s Calibrachoa Superbells ‘Dreamsicle,’ and all summer, it bloomed on my front porch in a small container on a table. I loved it there because my house is made of brick, and the colors of the flowers just really picked up the red of the brick in the late, slanting sun and made me happy whenever I saw them.

So this summer, I got myself another ‘Dreamsicle’ and put it in exactly the same place. Does this mean I’m getting old and stuck in my ways? Or does it just mean I want more cheap happiness? Both, most likely!

On a further exciting note, I’ve been steeling myself for weeks to have a discussion with my next-door neighbor about the mess of weeds that’s just on his side of our shared cyclone fence. I’ve pulled and dug as much of the mess as I can from my side; I was trying to get up the nerve to suggest that he let me dig from HIS side to get out the tough grasses and a couple of little trees that have started up there.

Today–hallelujah! He went at them with his weed-whacker. Not was good as actually digging the stuff out, but it shows he realizes the problem is his to address every now and again. He’s a great neighbor so I didn’t want to look all fussy, you know?

The neighbor on the OTHER side is probably going to trim my forsythia when she gets home from the shore tomorrow. Oh well.

Photo courtesy of Proven Winners®, http://www.provenwinners. com.

5 Comments

  1. Ursula King said,

    May 16, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    You remember the names of your plants admirably. Do you keep a paper log that actually lets you find your plants or did you find markers that don’t cost an arm & a leg but keep your notes ‘forever?’ What is your method of marking?

    • mshingston said,

      May 16, 2011 at 7:59 pm

      I keep the planting instructions/descriptions that come with anything from Proven Winners, as well as the seed packets I buy, sorted in envelopes by year. I don’t know why I bother being so organized, as I rarely buy the same thing from year to year–I mostly get what’s on sale!

  2. Marcia Gresko said,

    May 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Quick get out there before she mutilates it. Stick up for your plants before she wages war on any of them that dare come on her side!!!

    • mshingston said,

      May 18, 2011 at 8:00 pm

      She was out there this morning! It’s too late …………

      • Marcia Gresko said,

        May 18, 2011 at 11:23 pm

        Yes I heard she was ripping not trimming. Please have her arrested if she tops it off. I mean do you REALLY care if she never talks to you again?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

