Larkspur redux (plus rat)

I had a feeling that if this warm weather kept up, some of my self-seeding annuals would lap themselves. Sure enough, they had. Today I found the most gorgeous little larkspur blooming amidst the frozen wreckage in the garden out back. It’s my favorite shade, that deep purple-blue that’s almost like cobalt. It’s only about four inches high, and okay, it only has four blossoms on it. BUT! It’s almost Thanksgiving, people. Unbelievable. I still haven’t brought my hibiscus in, either. I really am living dangerously.

Speaking of living dangerously, a few months ago I wrote about my neighbor Julio decimating my side garden while trying to run down a rat with his weedwhacker. I regret to report that my husband Doug spotted said rat the other morning, He said it was sitting under a chair right on our patio, and that when he came out with the recycling, the rat didn’t even move or blink an eye.

I would like to believe we do NOT have a rat in the neighborhood, much less one that’s comfy enough with people to just hang out on our patio. So I asked Doug if it was possible that what he saw wasn’t a rat at all, but a possum. Julio might well mistake a possum for a rat, I thought, since he’s from El Salvador and I don’t think they have possums there. (But what do I know?) Doug thought about this for a long moment, then allowed as how maybe it could have been a possum; he wasn’t sure. He’s not used to seeing possums in daylight, he said.

So! It’s either a rat, or a rabid possum (since it’s hanging around in the daytime). Which would YOU rather have in your backyard? :-)

Photo by Walter Siegmund licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 3.0, Attribution ShareAlike 2.5, Attribution ShareAlike 2.0 and Attribution ShareAlike 1.0 License.

2 Comments

  1. Marcia said,

    November 23, 2009 at 1:06 am

    You could always sneak behind WalMart or any other store and steal one of those traps they have along their wall and see what you catch. Please don’t send it over to my yard. That wouldn’t be neighborly.

    • mshingston said,

      November 24, 2009 at 2:32 am

      Doug said he’d like to just shoot it, but I don’t think that’s really a solution. Bow and arrow, maybe.
      If I see it, I’ll send it over to your yard for some peanuts.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

